Skip to content

My Number 1 Lawn Tip

April 26, 2013

Folks have been giving me compliments on my Georgia lawn this spring.  I tell them it is all about feeding on a regular basis.  I feed my Scotts Heat Tolerant Blue lawn five times a year in March, May, September, October and November (allowing about 6 weeks between feedings).  I follow this schedule because this grass blend of Fescues and Thermal Kentucky Bluegrass appreciates feeding in cooler months and not so much in the hot, humid summer months we get here in Georgia.   Since my soil test from the University of Georgia showed me that my soil is low in phosphorus, I have been using Scotts Natural Lawn Food because it contains phosphorus along with the more traditional lawn nutrients of nitrogen and potassium.  (Most soils are not low in phosphorus, so most lawn foods do not normally contain phosphorus.)

Folks have been giving me compliments on my Scotts Heat Tolerant Blue lawn this spring.

Folks have been giving me compliments on my Scotts Heat Tolerant Blue lawn this spring.

So my number 1 tip is to feed your lawn regularly during the growing season and to spend a little more and get a good lawn food.  The nice thing about all Scotts Lawn Foods is they give a gradual feeding day after day for up to two months.  This means your grass gets a more balanced diet each day rather than the feast/famine cycle that comes with the cheaper products.  The regular feeding gives your grass stronger roots so your lawn is better able to stand up to summer’s hot, dry weather.  When it gets down to it, the difference between a so-so lawn and one that is thick, green and attention grabbing is regular feeding.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. maynardGkeynes permalink

    Congratulations on a great looking lawn. However, I wish Scott’s would just put out a 100% heat tolerant Kentucky bluegrass blend, without the turf type tall fescue. I don’t much care for TTTF, even in a blend, because while it may start out looking just fine, the blades do get wide as soon as the lawn get stressed, and it begins to look almost as bad as K-31.I also think the name of the product is a little misleading, given that there is so much TTTF in the blend. I was able to get some Thermal Blue Blaze and Thermal Blue from a local professional supplier, and it makes a really great lawn. Don’t know why Scott’s is holding back on the consumer version with the coating. (I live in MD).

    • Hi MaynardGKeynes
      Glad you were able to get some Thermal Blue and Thermal Blue Blaze. I think it has something to with seed supply. However, I will pass along your suggestion. Down here in Georgia the blend is really the way to go. I have only noticed a couple of wide bladed fescue plants so far and this is the third year for this lawn.

  2. maynardGkeynes permalink

    Thanks Ashton. Just to clarify, if you can maintain a tight stand, the TTTF will not go wide wide bladed that much. But to maintain a tight stand, you are going against the natural inclination of TTTF. It is a bunch grass, and it wants to clump. As soon as a bare spot opens up, it tries to prevent the area from filling in by growing prostrate and wide bladed to shade the spot. So that’s the issue. Thanks for passing my suggestion on to Scotts.

    • Hi MaynardGkeynes I know exactly what you mean as the wide blades I tend to see are along the edge. One thing I like about our Heat-Tolerant Blue Blend is even though the Thermal Bluegrass is at 5 to 7% by weight, it turns out to be more like a 60/40 blend by seed count. Looking at my three year old lawn I would bet I am at 50/50 bluegrass/fescue. This helps to keep it thick because of the bluegrass rhizomes. Good luck with your lawn this year!

  3. Ani E permalink

    What is the best way to feed zoysia grass throughout the growing season? I put tuft builder weed and feed a week ago.

    • Hi Ani E
      Feed a total of 3 more times this year at 6 week intervals. Scotts GreenMAX is a good choice. The only other application you might consider would be a broadcast Fire Ant Killer application which would also take care of fleas, ticks and any lawn damaging insects like chinchbugs or sodwebworms.

      • Ani E permalink

        Thanks for the info. Another question, should I do anything at the end of the season before the grass goes dormant such as weed and feed instead of just feeding?

      • Hi Ani E Your last feeding of the year can be a weed & feed if you have broadleaf weeds (non-grassy weeds) at that time. If you had some of the winter weeds in your zoysia last year when it was dormant, such as Poa Annua (also known as Annual Bluegrass), you could put a preemergent like Scotts Halts down around Sept 1 to prevent this winter weed along with some of the other ones like chickweed and henbit.

  4. Ani E permalink

    Thanks again, however I have a combination of broadleaf and winter weeds in my yard this spring. Which product is best to use at the end of the season to prevent the combination of weeds?

    • Hi Ani E Put down Scotts Halts around Sept 1 to prevent the winter annual weeds like chickweed and poa annua. Then put down your last feeding of the year using Scotts WinterGuard Weed & Feed sometime in mid to late Sept (6 wks after your previous feeding).

  5. Greg permalink

    Any advice for creeping Charlie, and how to get rid of it?

    • Hi Greg
      Creeping Charlie (Ground Ivy) can be killed with Ortho Weed B Gon Chickweed & Clover Killer (I have used this one and it works well). Also, Creeping Charlie can be killed with Ortho Weed B Gon MAX plus Crabgrass Killer or Ortho Nutsedge Killer. If you do not get it completely under control this time of year, follow up in fall is this is a great time to kill it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

