Skip to content

Want Your Clover to be OVER?

July 19, 2013

I have nothing against clover.  In fact I kind of like the way it looks in a lawn and as an ex-beekeeper, I enjoy seeing the honey bees working the white flowers.  However, over time clover can choke out your grass which can be ok if you want a clover lawn.  However if clover is taking over your lawn this summer and you want to get rid of it, I have some good news.  You can knock out clover and several other hard to kill lawn weeds like Wild Violet and Ground Ivy (Creeping Charlie) and Oxalis with Ortho Weed B Gon Chickweed, Clover and Oxalis Killer.  You can use this spray on all lawns except St. Augustine, Centipede and Bermuda.

I used the Ortho Dial-N-Spray Hose End Sprayer to kill the clover in my neighbor’s yard several years back when I lived in Ohio (see photos).  I stretched the hose to the farthest part of his lawn and then sprayed as I moved back toward the faucet.  This product comes in a concentrate that will spray a 3,200 sq. ft. lawn area.

My neighbor’s lawn before I sprayed with Ortho Weed B Gon Chickweed, Clover and Oxalis Killer.

My neighbor’s lawn before I sprayed with Ortho Weed B Gon Chickweed, Clover and Oxalis Killer.

My neighbor’s lawn two weeks after I sprayed with Ortho Weed B Gon Chickweed, Clover and Oxalis Killer.

My neighbor’s lawn two weeks after I sprayed with Ortho Weed B Gon Chickweed, Clover and Oxalis Killer.

Once you get rid of your clover, if you begin to feed your lawn on a regular basis (every couple of months) your grass will become thicker and clover will have a tougher time coming back.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Hank Schumacher permalink

    White clover provides nitrogen without the need to use commercial fertilizers on our Cape Cod lawns. We have a serious nitrate problem effectiing our ponds and salt water estuaries. Clover is a beneficial plant combined with tall fescues for a sustainable lawn on Cape Cod.

    • Hi Hank
      Thanks for your comment. You are correct, clover (and other legumes) have the ability to transform nitrogen into a form that benefits it’s growth and the growth of plants around it. Feeding a mixed clover/grass lawn in your area during fall would provide an extra benefit of enhancing grass root growth to help sustain the lawn the following summer. The stronger plant root growth in the lawn would then help hold soil in place and trap/utilize nutrients in the soil (such as in septic tank leach beds). I appreciate your passing along this extra info.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

