Skip to content

Is it Cole Crops or Cold Crops?

September 13, 2013

I was standing in my local garden center this morning looking at all the veggies you can plant this time of year and I overheard a customer say:  “You would think they could spell a word like cold correctly… wonder where they went to school?”  I mentioned that I had always heard folks call cabbage, broccoli and similar plants Cole Crops, not Cold Crops.  He looked at me like I must have gone to the same school as the folks at that garden center.  I laughed and said I did not know why they called them Cole Crops.  So, on the slight chance that person is reading this, here is a link to some very good info from Texas A&M about Cole Crops and why you will want to grow them in your garden.

I guess that is why they call it Cole Slaw and not Cold Slaw.

Red Siberian Kale and Toscana Kale are some of the many Cole Crops.

Red Siberian Kale and Toscana Kale are some of the many Cole Crops.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

