Skip to content

Looking Back Over 40 Years: We Grew a Lawn on Concrete

September 25, 2013

My first job after college was a County Extension Agent in Northern Virginia.  This proved to be a great learning opportunity to help prepare me for a 40 year Scotts career that began in September, 1973.  Looking back, I jumped at the chance to work at Scotts for two reasons:  First, I experienced customer loyalty to Scotts products first hand while working in a Garden Center during high school in the 1960’s.  And second, I was very impressed with the company when Scotts invited me to join other Extension Agents for a tour of their Ohio R&D facilities in 1972.

Over the years I have had lots of jobs at Scotts from California to Ohio to the United Kingdom to Georgia.  I have had the opportunity to train Scotts Retailers in every state and been involved in marketing, promotion and advertising.  I do not want to bore you with lots of stories, however one I think you will get a kick out of is Scotts answer to all the folks who would say they could not have a decent lawn because they had bad dirt.  How do you show that you can have a nice lawn with the proper seed, lawn food, and care?  Grow it on concrete.

For over 15 years there were several lawns growing on concrete around Scotts headquarters in Marysville, Ohio just to prove that you can have a decent lawn in spite of your soil.  Note:  Before you make fun of my hair or tie, show me a picture of you in the 70’s.

For over 15 years there were several lawns growing on concrete around Scotts headquarters in Marysville, Ohio just to prove that you can have a decent lawn in spite of your soil. Note: Before you make fun of my hair or tie, show me a picture of you in the 70’s.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Mark permalink

    That is pretty cool story! I can’t wait to make it out to the R&D facilities in Ohio someday.

    • Hi Mark
      It was always cool to show this to folks because it was amazing to see how good the grass looked in spite of growing on concrete.

  2. Fulltime Dad permalink

    This looks like the building on Maple Street. I love seeing old pics of our town. We planted our grass seeds last Saturday, but we have now realized due to our work schedule we can only water once during the day. Since tomorrow will be a week, and the seeds were plant 1/2″ with a slit seeder, should we not expect much results with the lack of watering? We planted the Heat Tolerant Blue Mix. We didn’t stop watering yet in case there was a chance of germination.

    • Hi Fulltime Dad
      Yes, that is the side of what we called the “Taylor Plant” on Maple Street. My offices were in that building until the move out to Scottslawn Rd in 1982. Watering once a day may be enough. You should start to see some sprouts about the middle of next week.

  3. John permalink

    I have never fertilized before and recently bought a bag down here in Texas. Great stuff. In fact, at a neighborhood block party a couple of the guests ask me what I use. I simply said “Scotts and water.” I guess I have the best lawn in the neighborhood, and it did t require a lot of work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

