Skip to content

Fall Veggies from Our Deck Planters

October 9, 2013

Here in Georgia we can harvest Spinach for quite a while after we get our first frost because our temps stay fairly mild until winter.  We planted these planters not quite 3 weeks ago.  We began harvesting individual spinach and lettuce leaves for our salad last night.

I took this photo after planting our spinach and lettuce on September 19.

I took this photo after planting our spinach and lettuce on September 19.

I took this photo yesterday before our first harvest.  Spinach and Lettuce provide daily pickings for our salads.  The more individual leaves you cut, the more leaves the plants will produce.

I took this photo yesterday before our first harvest. Spinach and Lettuce provide daily pickings for our salads. The more individual leaves you cut, the more leaves the plants will produce.

We chalk up our success to three things:

1)      The self-watering planters allow us to water about twice a week when there is no rain.

2)      We used fresh Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix.  We change the soil in these planters each year.  This allows us to clean out the massive amount of roots in the water reservoir in the bottom of the planters and also helps our garden when we mix the old potting soil into our native clay soil.

4)      We fed our plants Osmocote Plant Food at the time of planting.

This proves you do not need a big space to be able to enjoy fresh veggies.  Just think how cool it would be to do a project like this with your kids and how much they would enjoy eating the veggies they grew themselves.

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Lynn W. permalink

    For growing edibles I would use an organic soil rather than MGMC potting mix. Also, compost and an organic fertilizer would be a better alternative to Osmocote for fertilzing edibles. I love Osmocote and use it on all my flowers in the ground and in pots but would rather not “eat” it.

    • Hi Lynn W.
      Thanks for your comments/suggestions. I use the Miracle-Gro Organic Choice Garden Soil in my raised veggie beds along with the Miracle-Gro Organic Choice Plant Food. I like the coir fibers (coconut fibers) that are in the Moisture Control Soil for my containers. I always have tended to go to Osmocote for my containers, I think I will take your suggestion and use the MG Organic Choice Plant Food next time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

