Skip to content

Lawn Questions – Mid November

November 20, 2013

Even though most of your lawns are winding down for the year, I see there are several search questions that are popping up now on my blog pages.  So here are some quick answers:

1.       Is it too late to put down grass seed?

It is late to expect germination and enough root growth prior to winter weather in most parts of the country.  Some professional turf grass managers put down grass seed during early winter with the understanding that they will get germination in early spring.  This is called Dormant Seeding.  Here is a link to a blog posting I did last December on this subject.  http://tipsfromashton.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/can-you-put-down-grass-seed-in-winter/

2.       I am seeing moths flying from my lawn.  Do I need to do anything?

If you are in the Deep South you can still get lawn damage from sod webworms and cutworms, especially on St. Augustinegrass.  Moths lay eggs for these insects that can thin your lawn and cause it to turn brown.   (Moths do not damage your lawn, just the young that hatch from their eggs.)  You can treat your lawn with Ortho Bug B Gon MAX granules and this will kill all lawn damaging insects plus fleas and ticks.  If you use the higher spreader setting on the bag, you will also kill Fire Ants.  Water your lawn after spreading.  Other areas of the country do not need to treat as lawn moths do not lay eggs in cold weather.  They are looking for a place to overwinter.

3.       Can I still kill lawn weeds like Ground Ivy (Creeping Charlie)?

Yes, as long as daily high temperatures are getting to 45 degrees or higher you can spray your Ground Ivy (and other weeds).  There are various Ortho Weed-B-Gon products depending on where you live.  Click here to see your options.

Note:  If you planted grass seed this fall, it is best to wait until the new seedlings have been mowed four times before you apply weed killers.

4.       Is it too late to feed my lawn?

I am feeding my Georgia fescue lawn this week.  If you have only fed your lawn once this fall, you still have time to feed one additional time in most areas of the country except the far North.  For example, Ohio State University Extension recommends giving lawns in the Buckeye State a feeding in Mid-November.  Turf Builder WinterGuard Lawn Food is a great choice.

If you have other lawn and garden questions, click here to see how to contact the Scotts Help Center.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Rick permalink

    Hi Ashton, just wondering why the “show us your lawn pics” was taken down? I know it was on the old site a couple of years ago…if there is anyplace to upload lawn pics on this newly renovated site I haven’t found it…what’s your take on it?

    • Hi Rick…This is the response I got from our website guru: “It was taken down as the popularity of social media sites grew. Today, we welcome anyone wanting to show off their lawn to share it on our Facebook page at facebook.com/scottslawn “

  2. Rick permalink

    Oh, forgot to mention i do my final feeding for the year right around thanksgiving so I will be feeding tomorrow In between the rains with Scott’s winter lawn food…by the way, I love the new packaging with it’s ever so slightly cartoonish theme, kudos to the team

    • Hi Rick… I know your grass appreciates a feeding this time of year. I also like the new packaging. Have a great Thanksgiving.

  3. Joyce Daniel permalink

    Hi Ashton,
    From the first of September of aerating and overseeding I have followed your advice as to when to put down what ….. all is well:) I wanted to know though, if it would harm the lawn to put down the remainder of winterguard that I did not use when doing my second feeding earlier in November? It would be a “light” feeding and I was thinking about putting it down the first week of Dec?
    Thanks for all your help and advice and may you and yours have a blessed Thanksgiving!
    Joyce

    • Hi Joyce Daniel
      You can put down a light feeding of WinterGuard next week or the week after. Thanks for your kind feedback and I too wish you a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

