Skip to content

Help Your Lawn before Summer

May 21, 2014

Here is an important root-building tip to help your lawn standup to what could be a hot, dry summer.  I know it is not going to surprise you that I am going to tell you to feed your lawn even if you have already fed it one time this spring.  Even though I am a Scotts person now, I gave this same advice years ago when I was a County Extension Agent.  Here is why.

You know how hungry you get when you’ve had a long, strenuous day outdoors?  Well, right now your lawn’s feeling the same way.  It’s actively growing, sprouting new blades, forming new grass plants.  It’s working hard… huffing and puffing in a quiet way.  Your lawn needs a good feeding now, and the best way to feed it is with Scotts Turf Builder, Scotts GreenMAX, or Scotts Natural Lawn Food.  (Click here for more info.)

What’s so special about these lawn foods?  Well for one thing, they all have the kind of slow, gradual feeding so every blade of grass gets the nutrients it needs.  This feeding will green up your lawn in days, thicken it, strengthen it, and help it stand up to the intense heat to come.  This is the right thing to do even if your lawn is dark, green now because this feeding is also about expanding your grass plant roots.

Stick your head out the door and listen to your lawn.  It’s saying feed me.  Feed me this weekend.

Our three year old Georgia lawn of Scotts Heat-Tolerant Blue Grass Seed is thick, healthy and free of weeds because of regular feedings and a taller mowing height.  (Click picture to enlarge)

Our three year old Georgia lawn of Scotts Heat-Tolerant Blue Grass Seed is thick, healthy and free of weeds because of regular feedings and a taller mowing height. (Click picture to enlarge)

From → Uncategorized

19 Comments
  1. Rick permalink

    That’s cute good read

  2. Thanks Rick… good luck with your lawn this summer!

  3. Joyce Daniel permalink

    Hi Ashton,
    My lawn is a few weeks away from it’s next scheduled feeding. I can already tell however, that the front, which receives so much more direct sunlight, is thinning out. I had planned to use Turf Builder Summer Guard, which I already have. Should I invest in the GreenMax instead?
    Thanks!
    Joyce

  4. Hi Joyce Daniel
    The SummerGuard would be ok to use as this will give you added protection from insects and you already have the product in your garage. You can feed 6 weeks after your previous feeding.

  5. Joyce permalink

    Thanks for the quick response, Ashton. I’ll have to slap my hand to stay away from the spreader for a few more weeks:(( Hope you and yours have a great Memorial Weekend.
    Joyce

  6. Ed Christy permalink

    I am in need of a program and schedule for using Scotts products throughout the year. My lawn is comprised of Zoysia grass and our location is Central Fla. Please Email me your suggestions. Thanks

    • Hi Ed Christy
      Regular feeding during the year is the key step. Your first feeding would be in early spring when you are seeing at least 50% green grass and then you would follow up with 3 more feedings at 6 to 8 week intervals for a total of 4 feedings a year. You can use Scotts Southern Turf Builder or Scotts GreenMAX Lawn Food. With regular feedings Zoysia resists weeds for the most part. You can spot spray any weeds or crabgrass with Ortho Weed B Gon MAX plus Crabgrass Killer. You should consider whole lawn treatment for insects using Ortho Bug B Gon granules in late May and again in August. If you spread at the heavy rate on the package you will get lawn damaging insects plus fleas, ticks and fire ants. If you run into any specific issues let me know and I will make suggestions.

  7. Rick permalink

    Hi Ashton quick question, how do put a photo (avatar) next to my posts? Thanks in advance

    • Hi Rick
      Not totally sure about this, however try to access your profile at gravatar.com
      You should see a way to add a photo (they call it a gravatar). Hope this works out for you. This is the way I added my photo, however I am not sure if this is only available to individuals using wordpress to post/manage their blog.

  8. Brad permalink

    I’m now on my 3rd year of recovery of the lawn using Scotts products and can’t believe how far my lawn has come !!! It’s now the 2nd best lawn next to the neighbor Down the street from me, they even have sod and don’t! I made sure I took care of the neighboring next to me witch touches my yard so that there weeds wouldn’t spread on to my lawn! This year I had to hire the Scotts team being I have no time to do it my self, I might be 1 by mid summer, I hope!!!

  9. Lorne permalink

    When I asked my landscaper to put some feed on my lawn he said it was to dry, is that correct you can’t feed it if it’s dry? He also told me I need to water for 10 mins 4 times a week is that correct. I know on the Scott’s site it says 1/2 an inch to an inch of water but how do I know how many mins to water to achieve that. I live in so cal. Thanks.

    • Hi Lorne
      Based on where you live and depending on your grass type and possible watering restrictions I will give you several approaches. If you are able to water without restrictions and you want to keep your grass from going dormant, a half inch twice a week is better than a small amount every day. This helps to encourage deeper roots. Place a tall straight sided/flat bottomed glass on your lawn while your sprinklers are running then measure the depth of water that accumulates in the glass to help calculate how long to run your sprinklers to put down a half inch. You would only need to do this once to help figure out your sprinkler system. You will likely find that 10 min 4 times a week is much less than an inch a week. If your gardener is suggesting less water, he or she may be just keeping your lawn at the edge of going dormant in an attempt to conserve water. If you are closer to the coast and have a fescue or bluegrass lawn with water restrictions, it would be better to do your 4 feedings a year in fall, winter and spring during the rainy season. If you have a Bermuda or St. Augustine lawn you have the kind of grass that likes to be fed in spring, summer and fall. If water use was not an issue, feeding now and putting down a half inch of water twice a week would be good for any lawn type. Sorry for the long answer, just trying to lay out your options based on the input you are getting from your gardener.

      • Lorne permalink

        I live in orange county calif, so I can feed my lawn now even if it is dry correct & 10 min 4 times a week isn’t going to give it enough water still correct? I don’t have any water restrictions. What is a good feed to put down now, is green max ok? Also my gardener cuts the lawn every 2 weeks, should I hold off on cutting it & let it grow in nice & thick first. Thank you.

  10. Hi Lorne
    GreenMAX is a good choice for your area. I would apply after you have watered and then water again in a day or so after spreading. If you use a glass to measure your water depth after 10 min I suspect you will be surprised at how little water you have put down. My guess is you will need to run your sprinklers for an hour twice a week to get close to an inch of water. However this is all dependent on types of sprinkler heads, water pressure, etc. Measure so you will know how long to run them. In Orange County most of the lawns are either fescue (like Marathon or Heat-Tolerant Blue) or Bermuda. Bermuda would be a very fine textured grass growing close to the ground. Fescue has wider blades growing more upright. Fescue likes to be fed in fall, winter and spring. Bermuda likes to be fed in spring, summer and fall.

    • Lorne permalink

      Since my lawn is dry & needs feed & seed in some areas, should I do that & let the grass get green & thick before it’s mowed again?

      • Hi Lorne
        You should mow your grass frequently enough not to cut off more than a third of the growth at a time. After you cut your grass height should be around 2-1/2 inches for Bluegrass, Ryegrass and Fine Fescue; at 3 inches for Tall Fescue and Buffalograss; at 3 to 4 inches for St. Augustinegrass; and at 1-1/2 to 2 inches for Bermudagrass, Centipedegrass and Zoysia. You can mow after you put down lawn food and after you have patched some area with EZ Seed. You will need to water to get the grass seed to germinate and to get the full benefit of the lawn food.

  11. Joe F permalink

    Seeded april 22nd and used scotts starter fertlizer. Grass looks green and thick. Have some weeds but not terrible. Do you recommend scotts weed and feed or scotts turf builder as the next feeding? The location is for Long Island, NY. My goal is to prepare for the heat of summer and keep it thick and green.

  12. Hi Joe F
    I would feed with Turf Builder. You could spot treat any weeds with Ortho Weed B Gon MAX plus Crabgrass Killer once your new grass has been mowed 4 times. Based on where you live, insects like sod webworm could be a problem. Watch for lawn moths flying from the grass when you mow or during evening hours when you walk on the lawn. If you see this now you should use Turf Builder SummerGuard instead of Turf Builder. If you see this later in the summer after feeding, you could use Ortho Bug B Gon MAX to protect your lawn.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

