Skip to content

Gardening Idea for Kids

July 12, 2014

I learned a great deal about gardening from my parents and likely gained my passion at a very young age.  I am very glad I had all those experiences.  I gained confidence as I learned how to garden and before I knew it I caught the gardening fever.

As I admired the Sunflowers in our garden this morning I thought that Sunflowers provide so many lessons for kids!

Sunflower seeds are large enough for kids to handle.  They can be planted after the danger of frost in late spring.

Sunflower seeds are large enough for kids to handle. They can be planted after the danger of frost in late spring.

Sunflowers make a big impact in a matter of just a few months.

Sunflowers make a big impact in a matter of just a few months. (Click photo to enlarge.)

Not only will Sunflowers be loaded with bees and other pollinators, but as the season draws to an end birds will flock to them to eat the seeds.

Not only will Sunflowers be loaded with bees and other pollinators, but as the season draws to an end birds will flock to them to eat the seeds.  (Click photo to enlarge.)

If you do an internet search with the key words “kids gardening programs” you will get over 18 million hits.  Add your location to narrow your choices and you will find some neat programs for kids of all ages.  For example, click this link to connect to the Junior Master Gardener site.  These folks are an extension of the Master Gardening program and can be a great resource for teachers.

Kids Gardening Program

Kids Gardening Program

I hope I have gotten your brain wheels turning to help get your kids or grandkids excited about growing things.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

