Skip to content

Blueberries in Our Future

March 7, 2012

Our Ohio blueberries gave us a bumper crop for over 20 years

We were sad to pass along our Ohio blueberries to the folks who bought our old house (Or, I should say:  happy for them… sad for us).  So what is the logical solution to this problem?  Yesterday I planted five blueberry plants in our Georgia garden.  It is best to plant a range of Early to Mid to Late varieties to stretch the harvest and improve pollination, so I planted:  two Patriots and one each of Duke, Bluejay and Elliott.

I mixed some Miracle-Gro Organic Choice Garden Soil into our clay soil prior to planting.  The soil pH of 5.0 is great for blueberries, so I did not add any lime like I have to our vegetable garden beds.

Now all we have to do is apply a little bit of patience and let Mother Nature do the rest!

 

We have big expecations for our new Georgia blueberry planting

 

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Kim permalink

    You’re in a GREAT place for growing blueberries! I had RabbitEye and some other kinds when I lived there, and they were sooo easy to grow. Most bugs left them alone, even the dreaded Japanese beetles (which will completely eat up almost anything). My only warning is to be careful when harvesting them because wasps like them, too, and you will get stung if you reach in and grab a wasp instead of the berries. Have fun!!!

  2. LuAnne permalink

    I just bought some blueberry plants and we’re ready to plant them but I have a dilemma. I didn’t know I was going to plant blueberries and we spread Scotts Turf Builder Plus 2 about a week and a half ago. The place where we want to plant the blueberries had some of the weed and feed applied. We’re going to dig the grass out of that space and plant the blueberries with garden soil that we purchased. Will that still be a problem because of the Turf Builder? I don’t want the blueberries to die because of any residual weed killer that might be there.

    • Hi LuAnne
      If you create a planting bed in that area by adding Miracle-Gro Garden Soil to your existing soil, I think your blueberries will do great. If you live in an area where the soil is not generally slightly acid like blueberries perfer, you might also consider mixing some sphagnum peatmoss to your existing soil as this will help lower the soil pH. If you have not done a soil test to determine your soil pH, you may be able to assume that soils in your area are slightly acid if you see lots of azaleas and rhododendron growing in your neighborhood.

      • LuAnne permalink

        Hi Ashton,
        Thanks for the reply! We’ll be removing the grass and using garden soil around the blueberry plants. I also checked with Scotts and, at first, I was told that we couldn’t plant edibles there for a year. After more discussion, the answer was changed to it would be ok as long as we know the roots of the blueberry plants won’t touch any of the contaminated soil. I think we’ll be fine after we prepare the area the way we were planning to. We live in southeast Virginia and there are lots of azaleas around. We’re in a rural area and I’m not seeing a huge number of them around here, though. I was planning to use the Miracle Grow for azaleas to fertilize the blueberries. I’ve seen some instructions that say not to fertilize right after planting. Do you have any tips on fertilizing? I wasn’t really planning on having our soil tested…frankly, I don’t even know where to take it to have that done.

        Thanks, again, for your help!

  3. LuAnne:
    Your soil pH should be fine for blueberries. Plant at least a couple of varieties if you can to improve pollination.

  4. LuAnne permalink

    Ashton,

    I bought Tifblue and Climax. So you don’t think I need to fertilize at all? I’m planning on mixing some peat moss in with the garden soil, too.

    Thanks!

  5. LuAnne permalink

    Oh, and one more question. I’ve seen different recommendations on how far apart they need to be planted. Most info I’ve found online said if they’re planted in a row, they need to be 5-6 feet apart and the rows need to be 12 feed apart. I only have 4 plants so I was planning on putting them in a row. Do these instructions sound right to you?

  6. LuAnne:
    5 to 6 ft apart in a row is good. I would feed them with Miracle-Gro Shake in Feed.

  7. LuAnne permalink

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

