Skip to content

Plant a Container of Veggies!

March 23, 2012

Rita said: “Get off the couch and plant some veggie containers for our deck!”  So I did.  (I learned a long time ago that the secret to a long, happy marriage… 39 years next month, is to say “Yes dear” every chance I get.)

I picked up some Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix (I love this stuff) and some Spinach, Butter Crunch Lettuce, Kale and Swiss Chard.  I selected a range of plants that will provide some color and different leaf texture.  I planted everything a bit closer than you might in a garden because I want the planter to look full.  I also, plan on snipping leaves off each plant every night to add to our salad.  The more leaves you pick the more new foliage will be produced.  When I was finished planting I sprinkled a little Osmocote around the plants (I also love this stuff).

After reading this, I hope you are inspired to get your kids involved in planting a veggie container for your deck.


I took this photo after planting. Check back in a month or so and I will post a photo showing how everything turned out.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Susan permalink

    How harmful are the chemicals in this product if used for Kale and other leafy greens?

    • Hi Susan
      The nutrients in the Miracle Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix and the Osmocote Plant Food are not harmful as they are the basic nutrients required for healthy plant growth. If you decided you wanted to plant your planters using all natural sources of these same nutrients, then use Miracle Gro Organic Choice Garden Soil and Miracle-Gro Organic Choice Plant Food.

      • Susan permalink

        Thank-YOU for a quick and informative replay to my question. I am an avid gardener and typically shy away from Miracle Grow products. Over the years compost and manure have been the key to my success. This year I am struggling with my seeds as they are not thriving like in past years.

        As a test I will try the Miracle Grow potting mix in my window boxes and see what happens…

        Thank-YOU again. Susan

  2. Susan permalink

    Sorry I meant reply… not replay..

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. More Salad Than You Can Shake a Stick At! «

Leave a Reply

