Skip to content

It’s June. What Do I Put On My Lawn Now?

June 16, 2012

Option 1:  Your lawn has been fed once or twice this spring and is doing ok.  Answer:  If you live in an area where your lawn does not thin and turn brown in summer because of insect problems, feed your lawn now with one of these Scotts fertilizers: Scotts Turf Builder, Scotts Southern Turf Builder, Scotts Natural Lawn Food or Scotts Green MAX.  This early summer feeding, during a period of regular rainfall or irrigation, well help prepare your lawn for hot, dry weather that may show up later in the summer.

Option 2:  Your lawn typically thins and turns brown in summer.  Answer:  Tiny insects can attack your lawn during summer.  One indication that they may show up is when you see moths fly up from your lawn when you mow or walk on your grass during early evening hours.  These moths do not damage your lawn, however they lay eggs for insects like sod webworms and cutworms that can cause your lawn to thin and turn brown.  Other insects, like chinch bugs can show up about the same time.  You can protect your lawn while feeding it with a special summer lawn fertilizer called Scotts Turf Builder with SummerGuard.  This product also takes care of other insects like fleas, ticks and ants.  Oh by the way, it is ok if you still see some moths after treating, since they do no damage.  You have protected your lawn from the damage caused by their hatching eggs for about 6 weeks or so.

If you have more questions about what to put on your lawn, just give us a call.  Click this link to see how to contact us at The Scotts Help Center.

Lawn moths fly from the lawn during the evening or when mowing. They lay eggs for sodweborms or cutworms that can cause your lawn to thin and turn brown during summer.

From → Uncategorized

30 Comments
  1. Danielle permalink

    I have a question about what to apply now. I moved into my home in Rock Island, IL last fall & the yard was not cared for & covered with ginko tree leaves for 2 years. After raking up all the muck, there wasn’t much left but dirt & weeds. Rather than digging it all up & laying down sod, I decided to try to salvage what I could. About 9 weeks ago (April 15th), I aerated several times over, put down Scotts seed & Turf Builder & watched my new grass fill in, hoping it would choke out the weeds once it thickened up. I’m now at the stage where I need to apply another dose of fertilizer, but unsure of which to use. It’s been very dry here but I haven’t had to water yet. I have crabgrass, clover, & creeping charlie with a few dandelions & violets mixed in as well. Should I just keep feeding the grass & spot treat weeds (which I’ve been doing with Ortho weed killer for lawns), or should I get a herbicide along with the fertilizer? I love the Scotts & Ortho products & would appreciate any recommendation. Also, I have a dog who has killed some spots of my new grass after it had established, any suggestions for this as well?

    • Hi Danielle
      You can help your new grass by feeding it again with Turf Builder. It would be best to feed when you are getting rain or when you can water, especially if the temps are regularly hitting the high 80’s. Around the end of August/Early September you will want to feed again with Turf Builder and again in October with Turf Builder WinterGuard. Ortho Weed B Gon MAX plus Crabgrass Killer is your best option to kill weeds. They are easier to kill when temps are between 50 and 90 degrees as the weeds absorb the control better when they are growing (below and above those temps the weed growth slows).

  2. Tom permalink

    I have a question regarding mowing hight… would it help to keep the grass green if I raised my mowing hight from 2 1/2 to 3 inches? I live in Northern NJ and 2/12 is recommended but wasn’t sure if I should raise it for the summer..
    My gras type is mixed Fescue/Bluegrass/Rye..

    Thank You

    • Hi Tom
      2 1/2 to 3 inches is a good grass height for your type of lawn and for your area. The bump up to 3 inches for summer is good. You can drop it down a half inch again during the cooler weather this fall.

  3. Trent permalink

    I just purchased a home in central Alabama and they laid down bermuda sod. The sod has been down since the first of June and i have been watering it frequently. My question is can I put some fertilizer with insect killer on the sod now because the insects in my yard are pitiful already? Especially spiders. If so which kind do you recommend for such young sod. Thank you!

    • Hi Trent:
      If they put a Starter Fertilizer down when they sodded, wait a month after sodding and feed with Southern Turf Builder or GreenMAX. If they did not put down Starter, then put down Scotts Starter Fertilizer now. You can put down Ortho BugBGon MAX granules anytime to control your insects. (I did not recommend our Turf Builder with SummerGuard Insect Control because your new bermudagrass can use more feeding.)

  4. mark williams permalink

    i bought some green max ,but now i am afraid to put it down with the temperatures high and lack of rainfall.what should i do?

    • Hi Mark
      As long as your mid day high temps are 90 or below, you can put down GreenMaX. It would be good if you could water after feeding.

  5. Glenda permalink

    The sprayer attached to my Roundup does not work any more. I still have half of the Roundup in the container. What should I do?

    • Hi Glenda
      Sorry about your Roundup sprayer. Give the folks in our Help Center a call and tell them the details so they can provide a solution. Toll Free Help Line: 1-800-543-TURF

  6. Robert Garcia permalink

    I live in Northern Calif. I have nice thick lawn that has been planted for approx. 7 years. No weeds. However I see ants crawling along the edge. I use the Ortho Bug B Gone Max. How often should I apply it?( I use only Scotts fertilizers and fertilize every 6-8 weeks like clock work). Robert

    • Hi Robert
      The Ortho Bug B Gon MAX is the product to use for ants. There are three spreader settings on the package to give you three different coverages. The heavy rate is for fire ants which helps to provide longer control. If you use one of the lower rates, you may find the need to spread again in 4 to 6 weeks.

  7. Carlos Gonzalez permalink

    Hi Ashton,

    I layed down tall fescue sod about a month ago both in front and back yards; my front yard is doing great, however my rear yard has a lot of brown to yellow spots throughout the turf, and in some of them the grass is completely dead. I treated for Japanese beetles and grubs, but the spots continue to show up, what can I do to get this under control?.

    • Hi Carlos
      Fescue does its best growth during cool to moderate weather and really slows down during weather with regular highs in the 90’s. Possible reasons for your back yard: 1) Your backyard receives more sun and is hotter than your front yard, thereby slowing growth, 2) The sod dried out too much before new roots were established, And/Or 3) A fungus disease called Brown Patch attacked your new sod during its weakend state. I do not think grubs did the damage based on the time of year. Grubs do less feeding during Late May/June as they are preparing to become beetles. The best time to sod fescue is early fall or early spring so the grass has the best chance of establishing a good root system prior to hot, dry summer weather.

  8. Brian Maycroft permalink

    I have many thin spots in my lawn and a fair amount of weeds. I want to kill the weeds, seed the bare spots and fertilize the lawn. I usually use turf builder w/summerguard at this time of year but didn’t know if I could use turfbuilder without killing newly seeded grass. The only thing I’ve used sor far was starter fertilizer in april. it’s now July and pretty hoy (90’s) in Michigan. I water often. Any advise? My grass is starving for food.

    • Hi Brian
      It is best to hold off killing weeds and feeding until your high temps are staying in the 80’s. You can feed with Turf Builder SummerGuard. You can kill weeds with Ortho WeedBGon MAX plus Crabgrass Killer. Remember to feed your lawn at least twice this fall.

  9. Carlos Gonzalez permalink

    Hi Ashton,
    Thank you for your advice, I went ahead and treated the lawns with scott’s fungus medication, is there anything else that I can do to prevent fungus?

    • Hi Carlos
      Brown Patch likes higher temps with higher humidity. Just try to do your watering in the morning so the grass does not stay wet for long periods of time and try to lengthen the time between watering to encourage the roots to grow deeper. Cooler weather, especially at night will also help.

  10. Jason M. permalink

    Hi Ashton,
    My Scotts lawn care program for North Texas suggests 5-6 different feedings per year. I noticed in a previous comment you suggested to Brian in Michigan to hold off on feeding until temps are staying in the 80s. What would be the temp range for North Texas? Right now the highs are in the high 90s to low 100s. I’m confident in saying this temp range will continue through August or September. Should I still follow the lawn care program and feed in July/August? Or should I wait until high temps come down to the 80s?

    FYI-I have fed the lawn twice, once in early spring, and once near the first of June.

    • Hi Jason:
      The kinds of grass you grow in North Texas (generally Bermudagrass) love getting a feeding this time of year even if the temps are in the 90’s. Since you fed in early June, feed again in a couple of weeks. (Sorry for the confusion. My note to Brian in Michigan to hold off feeding until his temps dropped was because he is growing one of the cool-season grasses that likes to slow down growth in very hot weather, and his grass was planted this spring.)

  11. Jason M. permalink

    Thanks for the advice Ashton. I should have read Brian’s post more closely. I definitely plan to feed soon.

  12. Adrian permalink

    It’s mid august in N. TX which means temps are in the low 100s as the normal everyday high. Last year my St. Augustine was greener than green. I fed every 6-8 weeks using Southern Turfbuilder. This year I have only fed twice unfortunately and I regret it. I didn’t know what was wrong till i did my research. Chinch bugs got a hold of my yard. Mainly nearest to the sidewalk where annoying pet owner don’t pick up waste.
    I fertilized using Summerguard on 8/7/12 hoping I will see results soon. Since I typically fertilize every 6-8 weeks can I spread another round of Summerguard or Southern Turfbuilder in the first week of September?

    Thank you

    • Hi Adrian
      Since Southern Turf Builder provides more feeding than SummerGuard, this would be a better choice, especially since you have already put down the insect control. It would be ok to feed with Southern Turf Builder Labor Day weekend.

      • Adrian permalink

        Thanks Ashton.
        Will that help with bringing the life back to my St. Augustine or do you feel I may need to replace those sections with new sod squares?

      • Hi Adrian The bad thing about chinchbugs is when they attack, grass does not usually recover. If you are not seeing any green grass shoots trying to sprout from the brown grass a week or so after feeding and watering, you will probably need to sod. Sorry for the bad news.

        Ashton

        Reply

  13. Hi Adrian
    The bad thing about chinchbugs is when they attack, grass does not ususally recover. If you are not seeing any green grass shoots trying to sprout from the brown grass a week or so after feeding and watering, you will probably need to sod. Sorry for the bad news.

  14. Roy permalink

    I live in New York and have Sod grass in my lawn, don’t know what kind of grass I have. I just applied Scotts green max and like to know what is my next step before the fall?

  15. Marcus permalink

    Hello Ashton,
    I am sure you get this all the time, but as a first-time homeowner and the desire to maintain a healthy yard I must ask. We have our front lawn sodded around the middle of May and just gave it its first cut this week. There was no started fertilizer place at the time of sodding, so I would like to know what do I need to start with to feed the lawn and can I use insect control to prevent chinchbugs before they start. I live in South Texas with St. Augustine grass.

    • Hi Marcus
      Feed your lawn with Scotts Southern Turf Builder. To protect against chinchbugs and other lawn insects, put down Ortho Bug B Gon MAX. If you also want to protect against fire ants, spread the Bug B Gon at the heavy spreader setting.

Leave a Reply

