Skip to content

Eating Veggies Grown on Our Deck

March 25, 2014

We got an earlier start planting lettuce, spinach and kale in our deck planters this year even though our weather has been cooler.  Since these plants can take light freezing weather, I wanted to see how much of a jump on spring we could get by planting 4 weeks earlier than years past. (Click here to read my 2012 blog posting “More Salad than You Can Shake a Stick At” to learn my tips for growing our salad in these deck planters.)

I took these pictures yesterday just before I cut individual leaves for our evening salad.  I now have no excuse for not eating my greens!

I planted 11 plants in each planter:  3 Toscano Kale, 3 Romaine Lettuce, 3 Buttercrunch Lettuce and 2 Spinach.

I planted 11 plants in each planter: 3 Toscano Kale, 3 Romaine Lettuce, 3 Buttercrunch Lettuce and 2 Spinach.

We cut individual leaves most evenings for our salad.  The more leaves you cut, the more new leaves grow.

We cut individual leaves most evenings for our salad. The more leaves you cut, the more new leaves grow.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

