Skip to content

New: My Lawn App from Scotts

April 17, 2015

Now you can turn your smart phone into your personal yard guru.

The My Lawn app is centered on creating a lawn care plan – the result of telling the app a little bit about your lawn.

The app walks you through five simple steps and then compiles a yard care plan with relevant recommendations throughout the year to help you get the lawn you want.  Once created, “My Lawn Care Plan” takes the guess work out of the equation – just tell the app if you “apply” or “skip” any of the recommended activities, and the plan adjusts itself accordingly.

Anytime you open the app and review the “Water” section, it lets you know whether or not to break out your sprinkler based on the past weeks rainfall totals.

For any seeding projects, the app walks you through all the results you should expect from seeding in images specific to the product you’re using – from early germination, all the way to seed success.

The app also has helpful tools like a chat feature to talk with Scotts experts, a Mulch Calculator, and even the ability to snap a shot of a pesky weed for identification and removal assistance.

Click here to get more info!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Joaquin permalink

    Hi Ashton:

    Im getting kind of a late start to my lawn, so this will be my first feeding of the year.

    I’m familiar with the Scott’s Turf Builder Weed and Seed, but I’m reading good things about the Green Max as well.

    Do I apply these together in the same feeding, or do I space them out. If I do space them out?

    Also, if I space them out, which do you think I should apply first?

    Thanks!

    • Hi Joaquin
      If you let me know where you are located, I can give you some specific suggestions. If you are in the far north in an area where you may have mowed only once, you still have time to prevent crabgrass and feed with Turf Builder with Halts. If you are in an area where the dandelions are going strong already, then you could feed with Turf Builder Weed & Feed. If you have no weeds, then you could feed with Scotts GreenMAX. You should allow a minimum of 4 weeks between feedings, however the ideal interval between feedings would be 6 to 8 weeks. Let me know if this triggers more questions when you give me your location.

  2. Andrew permalink

    Hello,
    I live in Dayton, Ohio. My lawn didn’t receive any weed killer last year (and maybe the year before) and now certain areas (mostly the sunny areas) are full of dandelions. I used the Turf Builder with Halts on March 22, 2015 and I desperately want to put down the Weed & Feed. The question: It’s been 5 weeks, is that enough time since the last feeding? Can I apply the Weed & Feed in the next few days (following the weather/rain advisements of course)? You just stated in the previous remark “to allow a minimum of 4 weeks” but ideally it should be 6 to 8 weeks. What happens when you feed too much or too frequently? I would also like to try the Green Max this year. However, I wouldn’t get to use it until the first part of June, is that too late for Dayton? Thanks in advance for all your help.

    • Hi Andrew
      Thanks for giving my your location. The ideal number of feedings for Dayton lawns are 4 or 5 per year with 2 of those in fall. You could put down Turf Builder Weed & Feed now even though you just fed 5 weeks ago. You will see an increase in growth and mowing frequency as your application of Turf Builder with Halts is still feeding your grass for the next week or so. Another option is to treat your weeds with a spray of Ortho Weed B Gon MAX plus Crabgrass Killer now and then feed in a couple of weeks with GreenMAX.

Leave a Reply

