Skip to content

Why I Recommend Scotts

September 19, 2016

I sold my first bag of Scotts Turf Builder in 1965 when I was a sophomore in high school.  I was working after school and on Saturdays in a feed & seed store in Virginia.  I learned how to sell the more expensive Scotts from two men in the store who had attended a Scotts training meeting.  When someone said that they thought they needed some fertilizer for their lawn, these guys explained how the Turf Builder was designed specifically for grass and how it gave a complete, longer lasting feeding than the cheaper stuff.  The sales clincher happened when they told them that once someone tried Scotts, they always came back into the store bragging about how great their lawn looked.

I continued to run into very happy Scotts lawn owners in my first job after college as a County Extension Agent in Northern Virginia.  Because of seeing this customer loyalty firsthand, I jumped at the opportunity to work for Scotts in 1973 as an instructor in the Scotts Training Institute in the western U.S.  This Scotts school for retailers gave me the opportunity to pass along the knowledge I learned during my part-time job in high school, my agronomic training in college, and my extension agent experience helping folks with their lawn and garden questions.

Even today as a Scotts retiree and part-time blogger I get a kick out of folks telling me that they don’t mind paying the few extra bucks for Scotts because they like the way their lawn looks.  Scotts gives them “bragging rights” now just like it did back in the 60’s.  Why?  Because no other company makes a lawn food the same way that Scotts makes their Turf Builder products.

For over 15 years there were several lawns growing on concrete around Scotts headquarters in Marysville, Ohio just to prove that you can have a decent lawn in spite of your soil.  Note:  Before you make fun of my hair or tie, show me a picture of you in the 70’s.

For over 15 years there were several lawns growing on concrete around Scotts headquarters in Marysville, Ohio just to prove that you can have a decent lawn in spite of your soil as long as you fed with Turf Builder. Note: Before you make fun of my hair or tie, show me a picture of you in the 70’s.  (Click photo to enlarge)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

