Skip to content

Now You Can Kill Weeds in Your Grass with New Roundup For Lawns

March 31, 2017

After all these years of telling you not to use Roundup on your lawn unless you are intending to kill all your vegetation so you can create a new lawn, now I need to give you the latest update.  There is a new product (northern grass version and southern grass version) from Roundup to kill your weeds without harming your grass!  This short video tells you more:

Roundup For Lawns (northern Grass formula) kills weeds, not the lawn!  It controls over 250 common lawn weeds, roots and all, and is especially effective on hard-to-kill weeds such as crabgrass, dandelion, clover and yellow nutsedge.  This fast acting formula starts killing on contact and kills weeds down to the root so they don’t come back. In addition, it is rainproof in as little as 3 hours!  Click these three links to learn more about the Ready-to-use spray, the concentrate, and the hose-end spray.

Roundup For Lawns (southern grass formula) controls over 90 common lawn weeds, roots and all, and works fast on hard-to-kill weeds such as dollarweed, dandelion, clover and yellow nutsedge. It can be used with confidence on even the most delicate southern grasses, such as Floratam and Centipede. This fast acting formula kills on contact and destroys weeds down to the root so they don’t come back. In addition, it is rainproof in as little as 4 hours!  Click these three links to learn more about the Ready-to-use spray, the concentrate, and the hose-end spray.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Randy Holmes permalink

    Ashton…Sort of in line with the Round-up post, I have a question. I live in southern Maryland and I had a Zoysia lawn installed last year (via sod). Over the winter it developed a lot of weeds (mostly clover, but some kind of grassy weed as well). My lawn maintenance guy came by and spread a pre-emergent and sprayed to kill the weeds just last week. However, I am wondering if it is normal for a dormant Zoysia yard to get so many weeds. Is that normal? Should I be worried about the quality of my Zoysia? I am also wondering which type of Round-up I should use should my weeds not die from the recent spraying. Thank you.

    • Hi Randy Holmes
      It is common for “winter annual weeds” to germinate during fall in lawns like zoysia that go dormant in winter. This is not a reflection on your sod quality. For this reason you should mark your calendar on Labor Day weekend (first weekend in September) to apply a pre-emergent like Scotts Halts or Turf Builder with Halts. Here is a link to one of my blog postings about this: https://tipsfromashton.wordpress.com/2016/08/29/how-to-prevent-poa-annua-annual-bluegrass-from-invading-your-lawn/
      The spray that your lawn person put down should kill the weeds within 2 to 4 weeks. You can spot spray any remaining with the Roundup For Lawns sold in your area.

  2. Randy Holmes permalink

    Ashton…I am contacting you regarding some other weeds in my lawn that are not clover and do not appear to be dying. I can see that the clover are dying, but I don’t know what the other weeds are and I would like to know if you can help me identify them. I took pictures – is there any way I can upload them, or send them to you? I live in southern Maryland and have a Zoysia yard. Thank you.

    • Hi Randy Holmes
      Sorry that I do not have a way for you to upload your photos to this blog. I am sending you an email so you can respond with your photos so I can ID your weeds.

Leave a Reply

